Exploring

Image

I woke up this morning to the sun shining in through my windows and couldn’t wait to look outside and discover my view.  I get out of bed, walked over the windows to open the shades, and there it is.  I look to my left, and the skyline is the mountain range.  I then look to my right…..barbed wire. At least I’m trapped in here and no body is getting in???….

I took an ice cold shower before I found out that the system is different here in Costa Rica and in order to get hot water, you can only turn the lever a little to the left instead of all the way to the left.  Therefore, the warmer the shower, the less water pressure you get.  Breakfast is ready everyday at 7:30 am, so I went downstairs where a bowl of cereal, fruit, juice, water, and coffee (GOOD coffee) were all waiting for me at the table.  I then walked up the street to campus where I met all of the other AIFS study abroad students.  We went on a tour of campus, sat in a few meetings, and had a walking tour of downtown San Jose. The picture above is one I took right outside the entrance of Veritas Universidad.

It started pouring rain around 3:00 this afternoon. It’s almost 7:00 now, and the rain hasn’t stopped.  We learned that we should just expect rain everyday from 2-5 up until the middle of November since it’s the rainy season. So basically, carry a rain jacket and umbrella with you EVERYWHERE. 

Classes start tomorrow at 8:00 am.  Did I mention that I was somehow placed in the intermediate level of Spanish? Not feeling so hot about this one…I guess I’ll see how it goes, wish me luck!

 

