The Decision

Well, it has been about three weeks in Costa Rica, and I honestly could not be happier. Sure, there are some things that are difficult to adjust to but that’s life, and that is exactly what I was hoping to get out of this experience. A change, a new opportunity, an adventure.

Before I decided to go abroad, I was having a hard time making decisions. For those of you that know me well, this is not the first time I have had this problem. I am very indecisive, and am a huge believer of “waiting for the sign,” but often times, there is no sign. I often try to explain my thoughts to others and the response I usually get is, “nobody can make a decision for you, because the decision is yours.”

After contemplating transferring to a different college, rethinking some of the relationships I had with people at the time, and trying to figure out what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, I was pretty stressed out.  That’s when it occurred to me; A semester abroad couldn’t happen at a more convenient time.

Only three weeks in, and I already feel my life transforming.  Not only have I gained more confidence than I can ever remember having, but I have also gained an appreciation for all of the things I was unsure of before.  After leaving my friends, family, and home for a school 15 hours away in North Carolina and now living in Costa Rica (again, in a totally new atmosphere) I realize I am a lot stronger than I had ever believed myself to be. I have met people in these first couple weeks that I already consider life long friends, and have seen and done things that I would have never had the opportunity to experience anywhere else. It’s an awesome feeling.

If someone were to ask me how I feel about my decision to study in Costa Rica…

I’d have to say, I feel pretty great about this one.

