Two Different Worlds

Although I am living minutes from the biggest city in Costa Rica, I am still finding time to escape on the weekends. I would like to add that I still have not run out of money…yet. The hustle and bustle of San Jose can be a little too much and although it is nice to experience the city life, I can’t get enough of life at the beach. During the week, I find myself waking up to the cars speeding by on the highway outside my window, honking horns, loud music, dogs barking, people yelling, and pots and pans clanking in the kitchen below my room. Then comes the weekend and it changes to roosters cock-a-doodle-dooing, the sound of hammocks creaking below me, and of course, the sun streaming through the windows making it impossible to sleep in past 7:00 am.

Life in San Jose is unlike anything I have ever experienced. The streets downtown are sardine-packed with people and the constant traffic makes it difficult to get anywhere. The whistling and name calling can get annoying, and the continuous fear that you are getting pick-pocketed can be frustrating and worrisome. Although it is not the ideal place to live, everything in life is an experience. 

Traveling to the coast is a completely different scenario. The level of stress decreases and it is a much more relaxed atmosphere. I feel like in order to stay sane here it is necessary to get away from the city for a couple days just to clear my head. 

It really is like i’m living in two different worlds. 

Image

This past weekend I took a trip to Samara Beach which is about 4 1/2 hours from San Jose. The relaxed environment and the hostel we stayed at made it a weekend to remember. Of course the people I travel with always have have an impact as well. 

Image

Image  

Image

It’s getting to that point where I am realizing I only have a certain amount of weekends left here to travel, and not enough weekends to do everything I had in mind. It’s an awful feeling, but I keep reminding myself of all of the places I have been ABLE to see and do, so I can’t complain much. Not sure where this weekend will take me, but I can assure you I will spend my time laying on a beach somewhere. 

 

 

 

