Quick Update

Two more weeks have passed here in Costa Rica and I was able to get out of San Jose a couple more times.  I took two separate trips, one to Playa Coco in Guanacaste and the other to Uvita Beach which is south of San Jose on the Pacific side. I found both places interesting and of course each of them had different things to offer but I would not categorize either of the two under my “Favorite Places of Costa Rica” list.

Don’t get me wrong- Coco beach was beautiful and definitely worth the trip. In the end, Erin and I ended up having a pretty good time…it just started out a little rough. For one, finding the bus station in San Jose was much more difficult than it should have been. We were dropped off at the wrong station, and were then misled by numerous people telling us where to go. We eventually ended up at the right place after walking around for close to an hour. THEN, I proceeded to take the “receipt” to my bus ticket to use as something to wrap my used gum in, and threw it away. Shortly after, I found out that I would pay for that mistake when the man would not allow me on the bus because they only take the “yellow” copy and not the “white” copy. Well, the yellow copy was the one with my gum all over it…in the trash. Obviously, I was not about to pay for a new ticket just because I was holding the wrong color. My day was off to a great start by digging through the trash and bringing my gum covered ticket to the man so I could get on the bus. He laughed at me, and probably felt bad for making me go through that so he let me on.

Image

After that horrifying event, Erin and I successfully made it on the bus and were off to Playa Coco. When we arrived 6 hours later, we ended up at a hostel where we dropped our stuff off and went to grab some food. After a discussion at dinner, we made the decision to grab our bags and move down the road to a nicer place. I don’t even need to explain because this picture says it all-

Image 

After getting out of there as fast as we could, we made it to a place called Hotel M&M which was significantly better. My only complaint was the roosters outside our window at 5:45 am, but honestly, it’s the same story no matter where we stay in Costa Rica. There is a reason I place my phone and headphones right next to the bed before I fall asleep. I always know they will come in handy when the early hours of the morning roll around. The nightlife in Coco was not great, but we were informed it was because we came a little bit too early and that we should have waited for December which is high season. Even though the night life was not great, we ended up meeting an awesome group of people at our Hotel so everything worked out. Another highlight of the weekend was watching the Packer game in a restaurant owned by a guy from Wisconsin. What are the chances?! I have never felt so close to home in the past 3 months than during that single hour being surrounded by people from Wisconsin cheering on my team. It was a great end to the weekend.

Image 

This past weekend I ended up at Uvita, where we stayed at a place called Flutterby House. The hostel was amazing, and was literally in the middle of the jungle. Even though the hostel was great and it was an awesome experience sleeping in a tree house, everything was very inaccessible which made it frustrating to get anywhere or do anything. Uvita beach was beautiful, but we were there just long enough to take pictures before it started pouring.

Image

Image

 

Image

The trip ended the next day when we woke up to spend the day at the beach and were approached by a man trying to charge us each a $6 entrance fee. It was then that I decided it was time to head back to San Jose early and save my money.

 Image

The next bus was scheduled at 1:15 but was an indirect route. Thinking we would save some money, we bought tickets and hopped on the bus. 7 HOURS LATER, we were back in San Jose. The direct bus would have taken 3.5 hours. That was another bad decision on our part…BUT we saved $8. Was it worth it? Probably not. As my Dad would say, “Time is Money.” 

I’m going to end this post by saying that I’ve really been missing home lately…and I really didn’t think I would be saying that with only 4 weeks left. (Mom- I can see you smiling through the computer as I type this.) I know these last few weeks will fly by though. 

Off to Nicaragua on Thursday…one more country to check off the list! 

I will be updating my blog next week, but until then, miss & love you all! 

