Weekend in Nicaragua

If there was one word to describe my time in Nicaragua, I would love to share that one word with you. It was one of those weekends where I am still trying to piece it all together bit by bit. My attempt to write it all out won’t even come close but I am going to do the best that I can, starting at the beginning. 

I took the bus from San Jose to the boarder of Nicaragua with a couple of friends whom I am very lucky to have been with because crossing the boarder was a very unusual process (AKA I would have been terrified to do it by myself). I had crossed the boarder in Panama earlier in my trip so I was thinking I had some idea of what to expect, but this time was completely different. Instead of traveling with a group of 40 people, it was just the 3 of us…at night. We had no idea where we were going or what we needed to do, but thankfully everyone was pretty direct with us and led us in the right direction. After getting our passports stamped and exchanging our Costa Rican Colones for Nicaraguan Cordobas, we had officially crossed the boarder. The next task was to find someone to take us to our destination, the Naked Tiger hostel in San Juan Del Sur. We were not completely sure what to expect other than rumors we had heard. “It’s one of the greatest hostels around.” “You won’t sleep for days.” “Sunday Funday is a day you will never forget”…and so on.

We pulled up to the Naked Tiger, and found out all of the rooms had already been taken so we claimed the couches for the first night. Although I was on a couch I have to say that this was one of the best nights sleep I had in the span of the 4 nights at the Naked Tiger. (We didn’t have a snorer in the room). Not only did I sleep through the night, I woke up with one of the most amazing views I have ever seen. Just another sight that words cannot describe but “breathtaking” might come close.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

We spent the next day at the beach. It was private, so we pretty much had the whole place to ourselves. The guys did some surfing while Erin and I watched from the shore. The next day, (Saturday) we attempted to make it to a different beach, which required a taxi ride. Instead of paying for a taxi we ended up at the local beach in town. It was relaxing until it started pouring rain and had to leave.

Then comes Sunday. Where do I even start? “Sunday Funday” is something that I had been hearing about through word of mouth and decided it was something that I must experience before leaving Nicaragua. It’s a full day of fun…maybe too much fun. We woke up early to get some breakfast in town and then headed back to the Naked Tiger. You pay $10, which includes a t-shirt and transportation to the various stops throughout the day. The first stop was a hostel a few minutes away from the Naked Tiger. The shuttle picked everyone up from the Naked Tiger that afternoon and dropped us off at this different hostel where I witnessed chaos. People were EVERYWHERE. The pool was packed tight and everyone was running around jumping into the water, doing cannon balls, throwing people in the water, etc. We stayed here for a while before we ended up at the second stop, the Naked Tiger Hostel…and the activities continued. I’ll just throw it out there that there were a couple stops afterwards, however after the second hostel I was pretty exhausted and decided to just spend the rest of the night where I was.

After Sunday Funday and 3 nights of restless sleep, I was more than ready to get back to my bed in San Jose. Crossing the boarder back over to Costa Rica was quite the experience. It was much different crossing during the day opposed to during the night, that’s for sure. Everyone (and I mean everyone) was waving things in my face, trying to sell me things, harassing, and so on. I could not wait to just get on the bus and get out of there. 

About seven hours later, we made it back to San Jose safely. I LOVED San Juan del Sur, and I really hope to make it back to Nicaragua someday. 

Image

