It’s not goodbye, it’s see you later.

It’s crazy to think that it’s been just about four months in Costa Rica. Here I am, sitting in my room thinking about everything I have experienced during my time here and let me tell you, it’s a long, long list. All of the amazing people I have met, all of the things I have learned, the places I have visited, and let’s not forget the countless hours spent on public buses (130+ hours). It’s been an adventure to say the least. 

As I was skyping my Mom last night, it dawned on me how unbelievable life really is. I believe there are two types of people in this world: The people who are willing to leave their comfort zone and find the “real comfort” that lies on the outsides, and then there are people that are perfectly content where they are and never feel the need to explore. I have always felt the need to get out of my comfort zone and test the waters. After this semester, the need is more than ever. I have come across several people here from all over the world who have been preaching to me, “Do not ever stop exploring. Remember always: be a traveler and not a tourist. And a quote from my friend Gil, “Try new things, meet new people and look beyond what’s right in front of you. Those are the keys to undertanding this amazing world we live in”. He couldn’t have said it better. 

Now going back to the talk with my Mom. She asked me how I was feeling about leaving and was wondering what was going though my head. It’s hard to explain to someone what my exact thoughts are because I myself am not quite sure what I’m thinking. I do know however, that leaving will not be easy. I get a knot in my stomach every time I think about it. It’s not that I don’t want to get back to Wisconsin, because trust me, I am really missing home right about now. And Culvers.  Wow, I could really use a good butter burger, cheese curds, and some custard. Anyways, back to the knot in my stomach. I feel that knot form in my stomach when I think about leaving because I know I will be leaving some of the most adventurous, caring, and AMAZING people I have ever met. And this is why life is unbelievable. You meet new people each and every day, and if you are lucky enough you will find a few that will become your best friends. Then life moves on, and you are on to the next place and the next phase in your life. Chances are, I will never see the majority of these people again. However, I will never forget being with them and sharing such a great time in my life. Then of course there are the “few” that became my best friends. Some from the West Coast, some from the East Coast, and then theres me, from the Midwest. Although we are scattered throughout the U.S, I have no doubts that I have not only made friendships for the past four months, but friendships for life.

Leaving Costa Rica is not something I can dwell on. Although I am dreading friday night when I have to say goodbye, I am confident that no matter where life takes each one of us, we will always keep those memories we made together and can hopefully create more in the future. As my friend Stella says, “It’s not goodbye, it’s see you later”. 

So, THANK YOU to everyone who made this such an unforgettable experience. I am more than thankful to have shared it with all of you. 

Image

